Akane Yamaguchi took the women’s singles title at the Denmark Open after An Se Young retired from the match in the third game. (Score 18-21, 25-23, 16-5)

An Se Young had a match point in the second game which she failed to convert.

After the second game, the match became a battle of physicality.

An Se Young had problems with her right leg and a cramp set in her right thigh when she was trailing 5-16 in the third game, at which point she retired.

With this title, Yamaguchi has now won the Denmark Open two times.

You May Also Like

Multiple players and countries break health protocols in Aarhus before the start of the Thomas and Uber Cup

The Thomas and Uber Cup kicks off tomorrow in Aarhus, Denmark. However…

Shi Yuqi retires at MATCH POINT!

Kento Momota faced off against Shi Yuqi in the first match of…

Who will sit in Axelsen’s coaching chair today?

Olympic champion Viktor Axelsen will be playing his first match today in…

Shi Yu Qi: “It’s a personal choice”

Shi Yu Qi controversially retired at match point down against Kento Momota…