Badminton World Federation (BWF) has suspended all tournaments effective from Monday 16 March until 12 April.

All BWF World Tour tournaments and BWF sanctioned tournaments have been suspended/cancelled henceforth. The suspension comes in the face of the worsening situation of the coronavirus pandemic. 

A few players including HK Vittinghus, Saina Nehwal and Kashyap called out the BWF for not cancelling tournaments yesterday.

BWF, in its statement, reiterated that it has very strong considerations for the health, safety and wellbeing of all athletes.

The list of suspended/cancelled tournaments are:

Yonex Swiss Open 2020 (Super 300)17 to 22 March
XXI Giraldilli 202018 to 22 March
Yonex North Harbour International 202019 to 22 March
Ciputra Hanoi Yonex Sunrise Vietnam International Challenge 202024 to 29 March
Yonex Sunrise India Open (Super 500)24 to 29 March
Orleans Masters 202024 to 29 March
Yonex Waikato International 202026 to 29 March
Polish Open 202026 to 29 March
Celcom Axiata Malaysia Open (Super 750)31 March to 5 April
Yonex Canadian International Challenge 202031 March to 5 April
Yonex Osaka International Challenge 20201 to 5 April
Finnish Open 2020 2 to 5 April
Singapore Open 2020 (Super 500)7 to 12 April
Adidas Dutch International 20208 to 11 April

You May Also Like

Top players who retired during the Covid-19 pandemic

Since the Covid-19 pandemic broke out, badminton, like many other walks of…

Lee Chong Wei – straight from the hospital bed to the top of the podium

The day is July 29, 2015 – eve of the Perak Open…

Lin Dan might soon become an amateur golf player

Badminton legend Lin Dan has started his next phase of life with…

Marcus Fernaldi Gideon’s luxury style is quite the opposite of his quiet demeanour on the court

When it comes to luxury accessories, Marcus Fernaldi Gideon’s style and indulgences…