Takuro Hoki and Yugo Kobayashi won the 2021 Daihatsu Indonesia Masters after defeating defending champions Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo for the first time in their 11th meeting.

Gideon told Jawapos, “From the start, we were under pressure, the opponents were also very fast. We were also not really ready for their speed. In the second game, we were able to find a balance. In the third game, it was tight, we also had the advantage, but then lost points. It was level at 19 all but eventually lost.”

“They played well too. We admit that they played well. There have been many changes in their game from before the Covid (pandemic) as compared to now. We try to do our best. We will evaluate it for the next time,” he added.

Score: 21-11, 17-21, 21-19